The Winners Of The 2017 Ringo Awards

by Hannah Means Shannon

The first annual Ringo Awards, named in honor of Mike Weiringo, were held in Baltimore last night in conjunction with Baltimore Comic-Con. After a moving keynote speech by David Petersen which explored the need for introducing people in our lives to the comics medium, the awards, which moved briskly at less than two hours in duration, were presented with plenty of humor and zest.

Here is a full listing of the winners of the inaugural Ringo Awards for 2017:

Fan Favorites:

Favorite Hero: Cash Wayne (Spectrum)

Favorite Villain: Arlo (unOrdinary)

Favorite New Series: Spectrum

Favorite New Talent: InstantMiso

Jury and Fan Winners:

Best Cover Artist: Frank Cho

Best Series: Vision, Marvel Comics

Best Letterer: Todd Klein

Best Colorist: Laura Martin

Best Humor Comic: I Hate Fairyland, Image Comics

Best Original Graphic Novel: March: Book III, Top Shelf Productions

Best Comic Strip or Panel: Bloom County, Berkeley Breathed, Universal Uclick

Best Single Issue or Story: Emancipation Day,

Mike Wieringo Spirit Award: Future Quest #1, DC Comics

Best Anthology: Love is Love, DC Comics/IDW Publishing

Best Non-fiction Comic Work: March: Book Three, Top Shelf Productions

Best Presentation in Design: Mike Mignola’s Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects: Artist’s Edition Hardcover, IDW Publishing

Best Webcomic: The Red Hook, Dean Haspiel

Best Inker: Sean Murphy

Best Writer: Tom King

Best Artist or Penciller: Fiona Staples

Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist): Skottie Young

Hero Initiative Awards:

Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award: Joshua Dysart

Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Marv Wolfman


And here are a few photos from the ceremony:

%d bloggers like this: