Svetlana Chmakova New ‘Weirn Books’ Debut In June

by Gary Catig

The Weirn Books

JY is Yen Press’ imprint dedicated to middle grade readers. Recently, they introduced the lead characters of their upcoming brand new series, The Weirn Books, Vol. 1: Be Wary of the Silent Woods.

The story takes place in the Night Realm where supernatural beings such as shifters, vampires and weirns take to the streets assuming a human exterior. Despite these threats, school is still in session and you still have to do your homework. There are protagonists, Ailis Thornton and her cousin, Na’ya Leiburne-Thornton and their nemesis, Patricia Chow.

The series is written and illustrated by Svetlana Chmakova, who is best known for her work on Berrybrook Middle School. The Weirn Books, Vol. 1: Be Wary of the Silent Woods is available in print and digitally on June 16, 2020.

Gary Catig

Gary Catig is west coast raised, east coast educated, and has a touch of southern charm. He has spent most of his adult life making science fiction a reality as an engineer conducting research in the military, microprocessor, and biotechnology fields. While currently living in San Diego, he enjoys all facets of pop culture including but not limited to comics, TV, movies, and music.

%d bloggers like this: