HBO Max Clarifies When You Can Watch ‘Wonder Woman 1984’

by Erik Amaya

As Wonder Woman 1984 is set to redefine parts of the movie distribution business for the next decade, HBO Max clarifies when on Christmas Day it will be available.

As Max itself revealed early on Monday, the film will unlock at 12pm EST/9am PST. This is significant as streaming services typically make content available at 12am Pacific. That said, setting a more specific time — particular one set for the maximum amount of simultaneous views — is not unheard of. For its first two seasons, Star Trek: Discovery debuted at 8:30 Eastern/5:30 Pacific on most Thursdays. The service abandoned this tactic for Star Trek: Picard, Star Trek: Lower Decks and Discovery‘s third season. Netflix, meanwhile, has been known to brag about its 3am/12am releases taxing the company’s media servers.

The midnight releases certainly reward night owls, to be sure, but a specific release hour on Christmas Day for Wonder Woman 1984 indicates HBO Max will use timing to differentiate the first-run features it plans to stream in 2021 for normal HBO Max content. As we’ve discussed, the entire Warner Bros. Pictures 2021 feature film slate will debut simultaneously in theaters and on HBO Max.

The film, staring Gal Gadot, Chris Pine, Kristen Wiig, and Pedro Pascal, will be available on the service through the end of January. Afterward, it will finish its theatrical release pattern and home video schedules before returning to the service sometime later in 2021.

Erik Amaya

Host of Tread Perilously and a Film/TV Writer at Comicon.com and Rotten Tomatoes. A former staff writer at CBR and Bleeding Cool, and a contributing writer at Fanbase Press and Monkeys Fighting Robots. Voice of Puppet Tommy on The Room Responds. A seeker of the Seastone Chair and the owner of a Legion Flight Ring. Sorted into Gryffindor, which came as some surprise.

%d bloggers like this: