Larry, Moe, and Curly Get An Upgrade In ‘The Robonic Stooges’

by James Ferguson

The Three Stooges have been around for almost a hundred years so it’s about time they got a bit of an upgrade. Publisher American Mythology is doing just that in The Robonic Stooges, bringing the Saturday morning cartoon favorite from 1977 to comics with a new series. The cartoon followed Moe, Larry, and Curley as robonically-altered bumbling super heroes working from their junk yard headquarters under the direction of Agent 000 who ran the Super Hero Employment Agency. Developed by Norman Maurer, the series ran for 16 episodes.

I will admit that I had never heard of this show before I received this press release. American Mythology is debuting a new parody comic featuring two stories, “The Imbecile Gauntlet by Three Stooges” written by S.A. Check and illustrated by Jorge Pacheco along with a back-up tale called “Fright at the Museum” from writer Jordan Gershowitz and artist Philip Murphy. It features a covers by Eric Shanower and Jorge Pacheco.

“What can be better than giving The Three Stooges their own wacky super powers?” asked book writer S.A. Check.  “This takes the Stooges smacks, whacks, slaps, and eye-pokes to a whole new level of fun! The classic cartoons were crazy, irreverent, and always entertaining, and we just wanted to try to capture that same energy with the new comic.  As always, AM really wants to get the book just right for fans of The Stooges and Robo-Stooges alike!  So, we tried to make sure the things we loved most about the Robonic Stooges were present, the powers, the costumes, the junk yard, Agent 000!  We also wanted to give new readers a window to join in on the fun, so we came up with a story we felt everyone could relate to with The Imbecile Gauntlet.  You don’t need to be an existing fan of The Stooges or even the Robonic Stooges to enjoy the story and have a few laughs.”

“The Robonic Stooges are everything right with comic books,” said Barlow Jones, marketing manager for American Mythology.  “They’re a crazy, wacky, blast from Saturday mornings past to help remind us to add a little fun into our days, and we could all use some of that right now.  Just by bringing the Robonic Stooges back to life in comics, we’re showing what die-hard fans of The Three Stooges we are here at AM.  There’s no part of these comedy legends’ history we aren’t in love with, and this is just one more way for us to give something special back to the Stooge fan in all of us.  The Robonic Stooges takes the same fun the Stooges injected into their shorts and movies and gives it all a fun robonic twist.  Just give the book a try!  We always strive to give fans more nyuk for their buck!”

The Robonic Stooges is set for release in April 2021.

%d bloggers like this: