Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#220338 - 08/23/02 07:27 AM What are the best companies to work for?
99fingers Offline

Loc: Canada
Hi all:

First time poster here.
As an artist, I was curious to know from other freelancers what they think is the best independent comic publisher to work for.
And please state why.

99fingers

#220339 - 08/23/02 10:37 AM Re: What are the best companies to work for?
ScottChantler Offline

Loc: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
I'm assuming you mean small-press, since an "independent" publisher would, by definition, publish only their own work.

I'm really enjoying my experience with Oni Press, so far. Their contract is very creator-friendly and they pay a decent-sized advance on a good royalty. And they're just all-round good guys.

"The more wonderful the means of communication, the more trivial, tawdry, or depressing its contents seemed to be."
- Arthur C. Clarke

#220340 - 08/23/02 12:02 PM Re: What are the best companies to work for?
Northcott Offline

Loc: The Frozen North
I'd been meaning to ask how you'd found things with Oni, Scott. I've heard good things about them before this, too.

#220341 - 08/23/02 12:24 PM Re: What are the best companies to work for?
ScottChantler Offline

They're definitely creator-focused, which is probably why so many creators want to work with them.

"The more wonderful the means of communication, the more trivial, tawdry, or depressing its contents seemed to be."
- Arthur C. Clarke

#220342 - 08/23/02 02:40 PM Re: What are the best companies to work for?
Bill Angus Offline

Loc: Hamilton, ON, Canada
Hey Scott, glad to hear you're enjoying your experience with Oni. How is the book going, anyway? When is it due out (or did I miss it/my local store not bother to order it)?

#220343 - 08/23/02 03:26 PM Re: What are the best companies to work for?
Philip Looney Offline

Loc: Columbia, SC, USA