BY JENNIFER M. CONTINO

Weekly new games are coming out for the XBox 360 system, but which games are living up to the hype? I recently had a chance to play a half dozen highly touted games: Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway, LEGO Batman, Crash Mind Over Mutant, Soul Calibur IV, and Warhammer Battlemarch. Some of these games exceeded my expectations for them, based on magazine articles and online reviews. Some, fell short. But all of them definitely had their moments.

First, before reading the reviews, I think it's fair to tell you I'm relatively new to the XBox 360 system. In fact, aside from buying a beat up XBox and playing a few games on that, I hadn't touched a game system since college when I had a Super Nintendo. I've had my XBox 360 less than a year. I've only been on XBox Live since April. So, these reviews are for the experienced and newer gamer. Also, as you can see by the titles above, they are an eclectic mix of game types.

Brothers In Arms: Hell's Highway

I wasn't that familiar with Brothers in Arms, outside of reading a few issues of the new comic book series. However, both of my grandfathers fought in World War II, so I'm very interested in that era. My first thoughts of BiA after seeing the beginning of the game was it reminded me of the HBO series, Band of Brothers. Here we had friends going into battle against impossible odds and dealing with everything imagined thrown at them: tanks, machine guns, open terrain, snipers, bombs -- about everything but the kitchen sink. I can't imagine what it must have been like being in that situation, but having a few units at your command and seeing men shot and hurt, crying out in pain, it gives you a small idea. I don't want to equate real war to video games, but I think the producers of this game went above and beyond to give a realistic experience.