David Petersen Will Be The Inaugural Keynote Speaker At The Ringo Awards

by Hannah Means Shannon

The 2017 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards are going to be held for their inaugural ceremony on the evening of Saturday, September 23, 2017 as part of The Baltimore Comic-Con. A limited number of tickets are now available for purchase by the public, the show has announced.

If you choose to purchase a ticket to the awards, it will include a full cocktail hour (cash bar), a full service dinner, the awards ceremony, and a gift bag. Tickets are now available for $125. You can visit the following link to make your booking.
The Ringo Awards have also announced that the Keynote speaker for the event will be David Petersen. Petersen is, of course, best known as the creator of Mouse Guard.

Petersen describes himself as enjoying “fantasy, folklore, myth, and legend”. Even more than that, he loves to draw and write about it. A steady diet of cartoons, comics, and tree-climbing fed his imagination and is what still inspires his work today. Petersen won the 2007 Russ Manning Award for Most Promising Newcomer and 2008, and won the Eisners for Best Publication for Kids (Mouse Guard Fall 1152 & Winter 1152) and Best Graphic Album–Reprint (Mouse Guard Fall 1152 Hardcover). He won the Harvey Award for Best Graphic Album of Previously Published Work in both 2014 and 2015.

Petersen has also worked on such comics as The Dark Crystal, Snowy Valentine, and Muppets & Fairytales from Archaia, as well as the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Micro-Series from IDW. His artwork also graced the cover for the 2012 Baltimore Comic-Con program, as well as the show-exclusive t-shirt.
Marc Nathan, Baltimore Comic-Con promoter says:

David is the perfect guy to help us kick off the first annual Ringo Awards. He’s one of the brightest people you’ll meet, he’s amazingly creative, his artwork is gorgeous, and he writes Game of Thrones with mice! I’m really excited to hear what he has to say, and I think the room is going to love him.

The Ringo Awards 2017 Final Ballot has been voted on by the comic book industry creative community. The presentation of final ballot winners, Fan-Only Favorites, Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement and Dick Giordano Humanitarian Awards, and the Mike Wieringo Spirit Award, will be held on the evening of Saturday, September 23rd, 2017.

I’ll be there, attending as a Ringo Award judge! Will you be there too?

%d bloggers like this: