Deadpool 2 Marketing Machine Kicks Into Overdrive With Video, Soundtrack Listing And 7-11 Takeover

by Erik Amaya


Now that it is just a few weeks away, Deadpool 2‘s marketing machine is finally revealing some wackier elements reminiscent of the first film’s legendary campaign.

First, Celine Dion released a video for her contribution of the film’s soundtrack, “Ashes.” It features an incredible dance performance by Deadpool and an extended joke about Dion being overqualified for the film’s ambitions. Nonetheless, the song fits the soft nougatty center of the feature film Deadpool.

Besides “Ashes,” the soundtrack album contains contributions from Diplo, DJ Shadow and other contemporary performers, and classics tracks from Peter Gabriel, Ah-ha, Pat Benatar, Air Supply. Here’s the full track listing:

1.   Ashes – Celine Dion
2.   Welcome To The Party – Diplo, French Montana & Lil Pump (feat. Zhavia Ward)
3.   Nobody Speak – DJ Shadow feat. Run The Jewels
4.   In Your Eyes – Peter Gabriel
5.   Take On Me (MTV Unplugged – Summer Solstice) – a-ha
6.   If I Could Turn Back Time – Cher
7.   9 to 5 – Dolly Parton
8.   All Out Of Love – Air Supply
9.   We Belong – Pat Benatar
10. Tomorrow – Alicia Morton
11. Mutant Convoy – Tyler Bates
12. Bangarang (feat. Sirah) – Skrillex

And earlier today the City of Burbank, CA alerted residents that Deadpool took over once of the city’s many 7-11 locations:

One imagines there will be more Deadpool takeovers in the weeks ahead. The film, Deadpool 2, opens on May 18th.

Erik Amaya

Host of Tread Perilously and a Film/TV Writer at and Rotten Tomatoes. A former staff writer at CBR and Bleeding Cool, and a contributing writer at Fanbase Press and Monkeys Fighting Robots. Voice of Puppet Tommy on The Room Responds. A seeker of the Seastone Chair and the owner of a Legion Flight Ring. Sorted into Gryffindor, which came as some surprise.

%d bloggers like this: