#MalCrushMonday: Boom! Studios Unveils ‘Firefly Big Damn Heroes Box Set’

by Hannah Means Shannon

Boom! Studios is unveiling the fourth #MalCrushMonday here on Comicon.com today, part of a weekly five part spotlight on the debut of Firefly #1 in November 2018, a launch which is part of a wider move to publish comics, original graphic novels, and more in partnership with 20th Century Fox Consumer Products.
Firefly #1 will be written by New York Times best-selling writer Greg Pak (World War Hulk, Mech Cadet Yu) and illustrated by Dan McDaid (Judge Dredd), along with series creator & story consultant Joss Whedon (the writer/director behind Buffy The Vampire Slayer, Marvel’s The Avengers and more) and its launch will be celebrated with the release of the very first Firefly Big Damn Heroes Box Set.

Boom! Studios says:

Strictly limited to 1000 units worldwide, this collectible deluxe box set is packed with Firefly essentials to tide you over for the long haul through the ‘Verse as BOOM! Studios reveals the secret Firefly history that fans have demanded for years — the definitive story of the Unification War, the intergalactic civil war that divided friend and family alike.

The Firefly Big Damn Heroes Box Set includes:
-All 8 of the original, unsigned FIREFLY #1 covers from artists Lee Garbett (Skyward), Jock (Batman), Bill Sienkiewicz (Daredevil), Joe Quinones (America), and the Blank Sketch Variant
-A BOX SET EXCLUSIVE variant from Tula Lotay (Supreme: Blue Rose)
-Firefly Legacy Edition Book One, with a BOX SET EXCLUSIVE variant cover from Rahzzah (Luke Cage)
-And a BOX SET EXCLUSIVE Firefly print from Dylan Todd, 50 of which will be signed by Joss Whedon
Jeanine Schaefer, Executive Editor at Boom! Studios says:

FIREFLY is about to reveal one of the most iconic stories in the franchise’s history, and we wanted to commemorate it in the biggest damn way possible. With two incredible box set exclusive covers and the chance for a rare, signed print by Joss Whedon himself, the FIREFLY BIG DAMN HEROES BOX is a must for any hardcore Browncoat!

For those who might be new to Firefly:
Created by Whedon and set 500 years in the future in the wake of a universal civil war, FIREFLY centers on the crew of Serenity, a small transport spaceship that doesn’t have a planet to call home. Captain Malcolm “Mal” Reynolds, a defeated soldier who opposed the unification of the planets by the totalitarian governed Alliance, will undertake any job — legal or not — to stay afloat and keep his crew fed. Thrust together by necessity but staying together out of loyalty, these disparate men and women are seeking adventure and the good life, but face constant challenges on the new frontier, such as avoiding capture by the Alliance, and evading the dangers you find on the fringes of the universe.
Mal thought he could outrun his past, but when a simple mission goes wrong, he’s forced to confront it in the form of the Unificators, mercenaries deputized to hunt down war criminals…and they’ve got Mal and Zoe at the top of their list! War can make villains of even the best men, and Mal’s quest for redemption will put him at odds with his own crew, forcing him to make a choice: fix the past or fight for the future.
Firefly #1 is available exclusively in comic shops on November 14, 2018.
Arriving in stores the same day, Firefly: Legacy Edition Book One will collect previously released Serenity comics for the first time under one cover in a new value-priced format as Mal & the crew ride again in these official sequels to the critically acclaimed Firefly television series and Serenity film.
For continuing news on Firefly and more from BOOM! Studios, stay tuned to www.boom-studios.com and follow @boomstudios on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: