Catch Up On The Story Of Kingdom Hearts With The Memory Archive Series

by Sage Ashford

Against every cynical fan’s expectations, Kingdom Hearts III has finally made its way to fans everywhere.  Finally, KH fans can finish the story of the Dark Seeker Saga once and for all. But as anyone with even a passing knowledge of Kingdom Hearts is aware of, there’s a lot more to the Kingdom Hearts universe than just the three mainline titles. Since the series launched in 2002, Square has released several games across multiple consoles over the years, from the PS2 to the Game Boy Advance, Nintendo DS, PlayStation Portable, Nintendo 3DS, and finally the PlayStation 4.
And while all of them can be played by acquiring Kingdom Hearts 1.5, 2.5, and 2.8–that’s a lot of games to invest in if one just wants to jump into the story of Kingdom Hearts III now that it’s finally out. Square’s gotten ahead of this particular complaint, and has released a series of five videos, shown below, meant to explain much of the story of the game so players can simply jump right in without fear of being behind.

Episode 1: Departures

Episode 2: Memories

Episode 3: Twilight

Episode 4: Dawn

Episode 5: Darkness

They’re all surprisingly short videos, as the longest one clocks in at five minutes, fifty seconds–so they won’t take a long time for anyone to get through. After that, feel free to jump right into the latest in Square’s Disney/Final Fantasy mash-up world.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: