‘The Umbrella Academy’ Finds Its Sparrows For Season 3

by Erik Amaya

The Umbrella Academy‘s third season will see a change in the timeline, and with it, a new Sparrow Academy.

Netflix announced early Monday the group assembled to play the Sparrows in the upcoming season. Like the Umbrella Academy, this group represents superhumans all born on the same day as Vanya (Elliot Page) and the others, but adopted by a Sir Reginald Hargreeves (Colm Feore) influenced by the changes made to history following the event of Season 2.

The group includes Justin Cornwell as Marcus. Described as “charming, chiseled, colossus” and “honest, virtuous, and demanding,” he nonetheless keeps the Sparrow family together. He is a paragon of leadership who will no doubt leave Luther (Tom Hopper) feeling outclassed. Justin H. Min will play another version of Ben. Described as a “Machiavellian tactician, wrapped up in a pretty boy body with a rumbling inner-squid,” his greatest ambition is to replace Marcus as the Sparrow leader. Britne Oldford plays Fei, a misanthrope who nonetheless wishes she had a friend. Additionally, she is both “the smartest person in the room” and a fierce fighter. Jake Epstein takes on the role of Alphonso, a battle-scarred crimefighter with a love for pizza and beer. Genesis Rodriguez is Sloane, a “romantic and a dreamer who feels a higher cosmic calling leaving her eager to see the world and experience a life beyond her upbringing.” Her obligations to the Sparrows may keep her tied down, but she has a plan to fly away. Jayme (Cazzie David) is “a loner hidden under a hoodie” with a fear-inducing snarl who hangs around with Alphonso.

The final Sparrow, Christopher, will be played by what Netflix bills as Existential Dread Inducing Psykronium Cube. Described as a “telekinetic cube of unknown origin,” the character can “turn the room freezing cold and induce paralyzing fear.” Though the Sparrows look to him for advice and, occasionally, conflict mediation, they also consider him a loyal sibling. It is unclear if Christopher will be voiced by anyone or relay his observations via abstract telepathy.

The rest of the establish cast, which includes Page, Hopper, Min, Feore, David Castañeda, Emmy Raver-Lampman, Robert Sheehan, Aidan Gallagher, Ritu Arya, and Adam Godley will also return. Production is scheduled to begin next month.

%d bloggers like this: