New Anthology ‘Xino’ From Oni Press – Coming In June To Subvert Your Sci-Fi

by Richard Bruton

The first of three 40-page issues of Xino comes out in July – inspiring paranoia, alienation, and anxiety.

Xino #1 – Cover A by Matt Lesniewski


In the first issue, Melissa Flores and Daniel Irizarri “surgically activate the hidden dimensions of the human senses,” Christopher Condon and Nick Cagnetti “debut the world’s first intravenous video game system,” Jordon Thomas and Shaky Kane “surveil the suburbs for signs of covert infiltration,” and one of Oni’s earliest creators, Phil Hester returns to the fold to “leave his deepest mark yet”. And on top of that, there’s covers by Matt Lesniewski, Andres Lima Araujo, Matt Sheean & Malachi Ward, and Shaky Kane.

Oni Press are promising that it will take us and them back to the company’s earliest days, back to the likes of the classic Oni Double Feature, which brought us the likes of Kevin Smith and Matt Wagner on Jay & Silent Bob, Only the End of the World Again by Neil Gaiman, P. Craig Russell, and Troy Nixey, as well as material from, amongst many others, Paul Pope, Mike Allred, Bill Sienkiewicz, Jim Mahfood, Peter Bagge, and China Clugston Flores.

But as opposed to Double Feature, Xino will go deep into sci-fi tales through a rotating set of stories in the three issues, or, as series editor Zack Soto puts it.:

“This is big-swing, big-idea science fiction with an edge—the exact kind of thing that made me fall in love with the comics medium in the first place.”

Xino #1 – Cover B by Andres Lima Araujo


Here’s the PR for you…

“Oni Press is proud to announce an all-new limited-series event, only perceptible in three dimensions as XINO #1 – the first of three, 40-page intra-ocular lozenges of subversive, psych-surrealist science fiction to cure your awful awareness of our meager reality.

Try not to worry — the implantation process will be guided by the megawatt brilliance of Oni’s brightest talents—past, present, and future—as they slowly tune your hopes, dreams, desires, paranoia, alienation, anxiety, and adrenaline to produce the desired results.

With a rotating cast of new creators every month — and many more deeply held secrets yet to be revealed — we assure you everything is going to plan…and you will feel compelled to [READ XINO] each and every month for as long as your system can tolerate it.

Side effects may include: A debilitating quantity of Jungian hyper-symbolism packaged into palatable doses as “covers” by an astonishing array of artistic talents, including Matt Lesniewski (Crimson Flower), André Lima Araújo (A Righteous Thirst for Vengeance), Malachi Ward & Matt Sheean (Black Hammer Reborn), and, of course, the infamous Shaky Kane (Deadline, 2000 AD).

So, no matter what happens next, remember this: You were warned.”

Xino #1 – Cover C by Matt Sheean & Malachi Ward


XINO #1 (of 3)

Written by Christopher Condon, Melissa Flores, Phil Hester, and Jordon Thomas. Art by Nick Cagnetti, Phil Hester, Daniel Irizarri, and Shaky Kane.

Cover A by Matt Lesniewski, Cover B by Andres Lima Araujo, Cover C by Matt Sheean and Malachi Ward, Cover D by Shaky Kane

Published by Oni Press on 14th June 2023

Xino #1 – Cover D by Shaky Kane

%d bloggers like this: